WRIA 9 Local Governments

The Green/Duwamish and Central Puget Sound Watershed is also known as Water Resource Inventory Area (WRIA) 9.

The local governments in this watershed are working with each other and with many other partners to implement the recommendations of the 2005 Salmon Habitat Plan.

These local governments include:

City of Algona King County
City of Auburn City of Maple Valley
City of Black Diamond City of Normandy Park
City of Burien City of Renton
City of Covington City of SeaTac
City of Des Moines City of Seattle
City of Enumclaw City of Tacoma
City of Federal Way City of Tukwila
City of Kent

Although not located in the watershed, the City of Tacoma is a partner in watershed ecosystem management because of its municipal water diversion on the Green River.

Each of these governments has a seat on the Watershed Ecosystem Forum.

Four staff, provided under contract by King County, assist the shared work of these governments. This WRIA 9 Watershed Coordination Services team supports the work of the Watershed Ecosystem Forum, drafts plans, seeks grant funding, assists local government staff and citizens on salmon-related issues, coordinates with regional efforts such as the Puget Sound Partnership, and works to inform and educate the public about local salmon habitat recovery. These staff are paid for by voluntary contributions from all of the local government partners listed above.