WRIA 8 Local Governments

The Lake Washington/Cedar/Sammamish Watershed is also known as Water Resource Inventory Area (WRIA) 8.

The local governments in this watershed are working with each other and with many other partners to implement the recommedations of the Salmon Conservation Plan

These local governments are:

Town of Beaux Arts Village City of Mercer Island
City of Bellevue City of Mill Creek
City of Bothell City of Mountlake Terrace
City of Clyde Hill City of Mukilteo
City of Edmonds City of Newcastle
City of Everett City of Redmond
Town of Hunts Point City of Renton
City of Issaquah City of Sammamish
City of Kenmore City of Seattle
City of Kent City of Shoreline
King County Snohomish County
City of Kirkland City of Woodinville
City of Lake Forest Park Town of Woodway
City of Maple Valley Town of Yarrow Point
City of Medina  

Each of these governments has a seat on the WRIA 8 Salmon Recovery Council.

Four staff provided under contract by King County, assist the shared work of these governments. This WRIA 8 Watershed Coordination Team supports the work of the Salmon Recovery Council, drafts plans, seeks grant funding, assists local government staff and citizens on salmon-related issues, coordinates with regional efforts such as the Puget Sound Partnership, and works to inform and educate the public about local salmon habitat recovery. These staff are paid for by voluntary contributions from all of the local government partners listed above.